I Am the Seahorse   4 comments

I can never

Again be a

Dog on the prowl.

Hearing the cry

Of a young pup

And wondering

If he is mine

Would be too much

For me to bear.

I’m not the kind

To  leave a bitch

At home alone.

Sending kibbles

Through the mail may

Alleviate

Obligation

For the wild mutt,

But that is not

Enough for me.

Dogs will be dogs,

I’m sad to say,

But as for me,

I am the seahorse

I’m home to stay.

-Joshua A. Woodard

Posted May 17, 2013 by Joshua A. Woodard in Poetry

4 responses to “I Am the Seahorse

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, My name is Martha, the POE fan you spoke to on the phone regarding her sprint bill (5/17/2013). I would like to say that you are very good and keep up the good work. I will check periodically to see if you have written anything new.

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to come visit my blog! I’m not on the level of Poe, but I am glad that you enjoyed my writings. I hope that you like my future postings as much as you did this one!

      • You are very welcome and I look forward to reading your future writings. I too write poetry but am not brave enough for the public’s narrow eye so I commend you on your bravery. Although I do try to remember the wise words of the beloved Dr. Seuss ” Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”. =) Maybe someday.

  2. Really good. I like how you used animals to portray actions of humans. It shows that we all are born with instincts and some of us do not use them.

Leave a Reply

