Behold Your Mother   2 comments

The departing sun

Is followed by a

Golden trail as it

Retreats from the in-

Truding eventide.

The loneliness of

December fills me.

Its chill squeezes my

Lungs, stealing my breath.

Snow covers the ground.

My childhood home looms

Lugubriously.

The burst Bulbrite on

The porch shines no light.

It was my last one.

Where is my mother

In this house? She is

Laying on the couch.

Her eyes are open,

But no one is home.

-Joshua A. Woodard

Posted May 22, 2013 by Joshua A. Woodard in Poetry

2 responses to “Behold Your Mother

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like this one. I can sense your emotion well and feel what you are feeling. It is good when the author can make their audience connect with them. Keep up the good work.

    • This poem was very therapeutic. I was able to get some emotional baggage off my shoulders. The only problem that I have with this poem, is when I posted it in my creative writing class, several people seemed to think it was about absentee parenting. This couldn’t be further from the truth!

Leave a Reply

